7 Types of Yoga You Should Try

Posted on 03 July 2019

The ancient practice of yoga has been worked upon and expanded for centuries. As a result, there are many different types of yoga today, each carrying its unique benefits and advantages.


So, no matter what you’re looking for, yoga is a great answer. Without further ado, here are seven types of yoga.




Hatha is more of a category, rather than a single type of yoga. It encompasses many yoga styles into one and includes practices of different postures and breathing exercises.


Hatha is considered to be the most beginner-friendly because of its slow pace and long holds.




Ashtanga is an advanced branch of yoga which involves many physically-demanding poses, making it more suited for the advanced yogi.


The practice begins with five Sun Salutations A and five Sun Salutations B to create a flow of movement and loosen us up. It then moves to different standing and floor postures.




Vinyasa is similar to Hatha because it is more of a category, rather than a single practice. It’s also considered to be the most athletic of all yoga styles.


Vinyasa can include many different poses in different sequences, but the premise is movement synchronized with breath and rapid flow through various sun salutations. 




Iyengar is a form of Hatha yoga, developed by  B. K. S. Iyengar in the 1970s. 


The practice mainly focuses on three things - timing, alignment, and precise movement. Students of Iyengar take their time with each pose, control their breath, and adjust minor details of each pose.




Bikram differs from other yoga practice mainly because of its rigid style. No matter where you attend a class, several aspects are bound to be the same. 


The practice features a set sequence of poses in a sauna-like environment - 40 degrees C and 40% humidity.




Yin is a very relaxed and slow-paced yoga practice that works great for beginners and those looking for a more meditative experience.


Each pose is held for 45 seconds to two minutes, the atmosphere is relaxed, and the postures are less physically challenging.




The name of this practice comes from the Kundalini energy within the body. It is said that Kundalini energy is often trapped in the lower spine, and the practice helps release.


Classes are very fast-paced and demanding. They simultaneously train your core musculature and breathing.

More Posts


Leave a comment

All blog comments are checked prior to publishing

So glad you found us!

Lets stay in touch. Get the latest news and promotions from State Of Shanti!

Search our store